Damage Done by Amanda Panitch

Tuesday, March 8, 2016

YOU GUYS. THIS BOOK. WHAT THE FUCKING FUCK BALL OF MINDFUCKERY. YOU HAVE TO READ THIS TO SEE FOR YOURSELF.


Title: Damage Done
Author: Amanda Panitch
Publisher: Random House BFYR
Date of Publication: July 21, 2015
Source: copy from Penguin Random House International

22 minutes separate Julia Vann’s before and after.

Before: Julia had a twin brother, a boyfriend, and a best friend.

After: She has a new identity, a new hometown, and memories of those twenty-two minutes that refuse to come into focus. At least, that’s what she tells the police.

Now that she’s Lucy Black, she's able to begin again. She's even getting used to the empty bedroom where her brother should be. And her fresh start has attracted the attention of one of the hottest guys in school, a boy who will do anything to protect her. But when someone much more dangerous also takes notice, Lucy's forced to confront the dark secrets she thought were safely left behind.

One thing is clear: The damage done can never be erased. It’s only just beginning. . . .

Purchase from Amazon | B&N | The Book Depository


My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I read this book back in August and I'm only reviewing it now because how do you even review books like this? Books that leave your mouth hanging open and your mind fucked to oblivion? HOW? I still don't know how but I'll try.

Damage Done was pitched for fans of We Were Liars and Gone Girl. It took me almost a year before I got to review We Were Liars because NO WORDS FOR IT, MAN, NO WORDS. And even I did get to review it, I don't think I gave justice to the book. I've read Gone Girl for, I don't know, 3+ years now, and I've loved it and have never reviewed it because HOW CAN YOU PUT INTO WORDS MINDFUCKERY LIKE THAT?

So to say that I am a fan of those two novels used to pitch Damage Done was an understatement. Damage Done definitely got my attention with the way it was pitched so I requested it for review. But when I got it, I was so wary to start it. What if this is another case of those times where they just throw out titles of bestselling books but the book can't live up to them and I'll just be pissed and frustrated at it all? What if they're just tricking me to read this book, huh?

Fear not, my friends. We have the real deal on our hands.

Ugh, I can't even talk about this novel because it is best to go into it without any clue as to what's going to happen. Just a warning: cats were killed in this novel. So if you can't deal with that, please stay away from this book. Because this book is effin' messed up and super dark. And creepy. But you wouldn't be able to tear your eyes away from it because you get sucked in to this tale and you'd only want one thing and that is to read and read and get to the end. I read this one pretty much in one sitting because I M U S T K N O W. Amanda Panitch was so good in keeping me at the edge of my seat, wanting, always wanting what the fuck happened before and what is going to happen now.

There were shippy moments, sure, because Michael was adorable, but they are few. You do not read this book for the ship. You read it for the thriller that it is, for the twists and turns, that while you might predict, does not deter from how crazily good this is. The pace was perfect, putting you in the dark for as long as you can and keeping you insane there. Basically the best kind of torture-pleasure only psychological thrillers can give you. (What am I saying?)

Damage Done was A+. Tight storytelling, dark, creepy, and unputdownable. Raised the bar for all. If you love psychological thrillers, you HAVE TO read DAMAGE DONE by Amanda Panitch. Never have I read something as messed up as this one in YA. So amazingly fucked up. My guess had been correct but it didn't affect my reading experience. It still surprised me and I couldn't put it down. WOW. This is only Amanda's debut and I CAN'T FREAKIN' BELIEVE IT. SUCH TALENT.

2 comments:

  1. Replies
    1. Hey, don't diss! The words only came the other day HAHAHA Thanks for dropping by, Inah!

      Delete

Comment away!

By the way, this is an awards-free blog. I appreciate it though, really. :D

 
site design by designer blogs