Stacking the Shelves (49) + July Recap

Saturday, August 1, 2015




For Review

*signed* Overboard by Elizabeth Fama

The Big Fix by Linda Grimes
Harrison Squared by Daryl Gregory
Armada by Ernest Cline (my review)
The Thing About Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin (ARC)
Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between by Jennifer E. Smith (ARC)
The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith (my review)
The Road to You by Alecia Whitaker (ARC)
Unmarked by Kami Garcia
Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor





Purchased

*signed* The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider
*signed* Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider
*signed* Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor
*signed* Better than Perfect by Melissa Kantor
*signed* How to Love by Katie Cotugno (paperback)
*signed How to Love by Katie Cotugno (hardcover)
*signed* 99 Days by Katie Cotugno



Borrowed

Wildflower by Alecia Whitaker

Thanks, Hazel!




Won

Mind Games by Kiersten White

And Again by Jessica Chiarella (ARC)
The Good Girls by Sara Shephard



Thank you to Elizabeth Fama, Tor, Crown Publishing, Penguin Random House, and Hachette Philippines for the review copies! Thank you to the moon and back to National Book Store for #KMRinPH! I finally met Katie Cotugno and I was so starstruck I wasn't able to talk to her at length because what do you say and do in the face of greatness? Just stare, apparently. EEEEEKKKKK! Lastly, thank you to my fellow organizers (Miel of Bookish and Awesome, Inah of The Bibliophile Confessions, Hazel of Stay Bookish, Faye of The Social Potato, and Aimee of Deadly Darlings) of #BookwormsUnite and to everyone who attended! Since I got The Road to You for review and I haven't read the first book, Hazel of Stay Bookish lent it to me. And then all the raffled/swapped books! YAY!


***

July Recap

1. I went (and dragged my sister along with me) to National Book Store's Launch of Online Pens! I got my first ever fountain pen and I have yet to recap the event because I suck. (What's new?)

2. #KMRinPH!!!!! Meeting Katie Cotugno left me mute. All I could do was stare at her and I was so starstruck. I haven't recapped  this one as well but soon! SOON! I need to give away her books too!

3. It rained pretty hard and work got suspended for a day!  WOOOOOO! I read Armada and ate my weight in pizza then because what else do I do when I have 2 14" pizzas, no work, and reading weather?

4. Our office had a team building activity for 2 days some provinces over so that was cool! For work to be play!

5. I GOT TO SEE TWENTY ONE PILOTS PERFORM LIVE MY GOD YES YES YES

6. It was BFF's birthday and I celebrated it with her family!

7. #BookwormsUnite was a success!  Although I was massively late because I was stuck in traffic for 4 hours.

8. I went to Coron for a vacation!


Blog

Let's not even pretend things happened this side of the web this July. T_T

Reviews

5 stars | More Than Exes by Elizabeth Briggs

4 stars | Mania by J.R. Johansson

3 stars | The Pirate Pig by Cornelia Funke | Armada by Ernest Cline


Book Spine Poetry | 9 | 10 | 11

Excerpt | Jesse's Girl by Miranda Kenneally | The Escape by Hannah Jayne

 #ThePlan2017

I'm giving up! Not. Anyway, I only got to read... 1 book... this July. One physical book, that is. Instead of 9. I know, massive failure. Which led me to change the goal to just read 9 physical books. Not necessarily review books.

Good luck to me because classes start this August. WAHAHAHUHUHU

#BTBBC

I just got my own book club! It's called Back to Backlist Book Club and we're reading Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl this August 1 to 25. Join us!

Music

However, I was prolific in getting new jams! Sharing my top 5, which was so hard to decide on! (Fine, I'm sharing six songs but five artists!)


Dollarmite by Velociraptor

Hello, my dear Aussie discovery. I really really like you. I'm so excited for more new songs!



Como by Yukon Blonde

July was all about Yukon Blonde to me. I am now so obsessed and such a big fan. This was the first track I got gaga over. So don't fault me if...



Saturday Night by Yukon Blonde

... I feature two of their songs. I was singing this in Coron and I didn't even realize it until my sister asked me what I was singing. YUKON BLONDE AAAAA. I even featured them in #OopsIListenedToItAgain! If that's not proof enough! I wanna feature their song I Wanna Be Your Man too GAH



Cool for the Summer by Demi Lovato

Admittedly, the lyrics are WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT, DEMI?!?! but good lord, this song got stuck in my head! #Demi4Lyf



Fire and the Flood by Vance Joy

WHERE ARE MY OVARIES, VANCE JOY? You, Aussie man, you. That catch in his voice when he sings "anywhere I go there you are" = AAAAAAAAAAAAA. And it's so damn catchy and OH LORD. Did you know that I named my ukulele Vance because of Vance Joy? YES.




HA! I cannot not include One Direction's Drag Me Down even though it only came out yesterday. LOVE LOVE LOVE IT

TV

July was all about Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt and UnREAL!!!


They alive, dammit!


Gah, this toxic show and yet I watch it. It's actually pretty amazing.

Films

I just watched Two Night Stand again because Miles Teller + Analeigh Tipton GAH. And I rescinded my 3-star rating for it and replaced it with a 4 because MY HEART



How did your July go? Any film, TV, or music recommendations? More importantly, what great books did you read this month?

6 comments:

  1. Great haul. Have a wonderful week!

    Diane @ Diane's Book Blog

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you had a great week too, Diane!

      Delete
  2. Looks like you had a fabulous week filled with some amazing books this week.

    Grace @ Books of Love

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The whole month of July was fabulous in terms of book mail! Thank for dropping by, Grace!

      Delete
  3. That's so awesome that you met Katie Cotugno! I've wanted to check out How to Love & 99 Days because they both sound like pretty interesting reads. I've been loving Cool for the Summer too! I don't know why, but it's just so catchy. The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt is one of my favorites! It was perfect for fans of New Girl, in my opinion. If you've not checked that one out you definitely should!
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you get around to reading Katie's books soon, Krystianna! And yay for Cool for the Summer! Can't help but sing it because it's so damn catchy. THEY ALIVE, DAMMIT!!!! Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt was such a breath of fresh air for me during the stressful days I watched it. Unfortunately, I've watched New Girl before and it wasn't really for me or maybe I gave up on it too easily. Thanks for dropping by!

      Delete

Comment away!

By the way, this is an awards-free blog. I appreciate it though, really. :D

 
site design by designer blogs