Interview: Amy Tintera

Wednesday, May 14, 2014

Today, I have here with us just one of my favorite authors and consequently, the author of one of my favorite books EVER. She wrote REBOOT, which was released last year, and its sequel REBEL, which was released yesterday! Let us all welcome, AMY TINTERA!!



About Amy Tintera

Hi! I’m Amy Tintera, and I write novels for young adults. I grew up in Austin, Texas and graduated from Texas A&M University with a degree in journalism. After receiving a masters in film at Emerson College I moved to Los Angeles, where I promptly discovered I didn’t enjoy working in the film industry, and went back to my first love, writing.

REBOOT and REBEL are published by HarperCollins/HarperTeen. Film rights have been optioned by Fox, and the books have sold in ten countries. I am represented by Emmanuelle Morgen at Stonesong.



INTERVIEW WITH AMY TINTERA

What's the best thing that happened since you debuted as an author?


I think the best part of becoming an author is all the people I've met and friendships I've made. Joining the kidlit community online and in Los Angeles has changed my life for the better, and I feel grateful to have met so many great people. 


Do you read reviews of your book?


No, for the most part I don't. There were a few bloggers who reviewed REBEL early, and I knew them personally and was nervous about what they would think, so I looked at those. Otherwise, I never look at my Amazon or Goodreads page or search for myself online. I find that only the bad stuff sticks out in my head, and makes it hard for me to write. Reviews are really for the readers, not the author. 


Have you always wanted to be a writer or did the idea just came to you?

I've always wanted to be a writer. I was writing stories almost as soon as I could read and write, and I'd written six novels by the time I graduated from high school. REBOOT was the ninth book I ever wrote, and since I'd just unsuccessfully queried a YA paranormal book, I was looking for an idea that would make for an interesting book. 


So much has been written about zombies (While Reboots aren't your usual zombies, the word has been thrown here and there about Reboot). How did you come up with your take on them?

I watch The Walking Dead, and one episode showed a full body scan of a zombie. When the zombie came back to life, the brain activity returned, it was just different. I thought that was really interesting, and I started thinking what would happen if zombies actually had plenty of brain activity and the regular humans just didn't understand them? I decided to make Reboots like zombies, but less gross. I call them "sexy zombies." :)


Who's your favorite character in the book? Who was the most fun to write? Who was the hardest?


My favorite is Wren, because I like how she's complex and kind of funny, but keeps it all under the surface. Addie was the most fun to write, because she provides a good amount of comic relief in REBEL. She's also really opinionated, which is always fun. Callum is probably the hardest, especially in REBEL. His feelings are really complex, because he loves Wren but also doesn't understand her. He wants to save the humans, but was also really hurt by his parents. Figuring out his character arc in REBEL was challenging.


Are you interested in writing in a different genre or for a different audience?

I'd love to write romance novels one day. Right now I'm focusing on YA, but I have romance novels in the back of my head. I'll probably write them under a different name one day, because I'd like to keep the two careers separate. 


Favorite color? Pink.
Favorite movie? Back to the Future.
Favorite ice cream flavor? Cookie dough. 
Favorite song? The Chain by Ingrid Michaelson.
Ultimate celebrity crush (dead or alive)? David Tennant.

Reboot has been optioned for film, right? Any updates or inside info?



Yes! Fox optioned the film rights. A screenplay has been written and things are moving forward! Hollywood is tricky, and most books that are optioned are never actually made into a movie, but everyone involved in the REBOOT movie seems very optimistic!


***

Not familiar with the REBOOT duology? Check it out below!



Reboot (Reboot, #1)
Title: Reboot (Reboot #1)
Author: Amy Tintera
Publisher: HarperTeen
Date of Publication: May 7, 2013

Five years ago, Wren Connolly was shot three times in the chest. After 178 minutes she came back as a Reboot: stronger, faster, able to heal, and less emotional. The longer Reboots are dead, the less human they are when they return. Wren 178 is the deadliest Reboot in the Republic of Texas. Now seventeen years old, she serves as a soldier for HARC (Human Advancement and Repopulation Corporation).

Wren’s favorite part of the job is training new Reboots, but her latest newbie is the worst she’s ever seen. As a 22, Callum Reyes is practically human. His reflexes are too slow, he’s always asking questions, and his ever-present smile is freaking her out. Yet there’s something about him she can’t ignore. When Callum refuses to follow an order, Wren is given one last chance to get him in line—or she’ll have to eliminate him. Wren has never disobeyed before and knows if she does, she’ll be eliminated, too. But she has also never felt as alive as she does around Callum.

The perfect soldier is done taking orders.

Rebel (Reboot, #2)
Title: Rebel (Reboot #2)
Author: Amy Tintera
Publisher: HarperTeen
Date of Publication: May 13, 2014

The sequel to the action-packed Reboot is a can't-miss thrill ride, perfect for fans of James Patterson, Veronica Roth, and Marie Lu.

After coming back from death as Reboots and being trained by HARC as soldiers, Wren and Callum have finally escaped north, where they hope to find a life of freedom. But when they arrive at the Reboot Reservation, it isn't what they expected. Under the rule of a bloodthirsty leader, Micah, the Reboots are about to wage an all-out war on the humans. Although Wren's instincts are telling her to set off into the wilderness on their own and leave the battle far behind, Callum is unwilling to let his human family be murdered. When Micah commits the ultimate betrayal, the choice is made for them. But Micah has also made a fatal mistake . . . he's underestimated Wren and Callum.

The explosive finale to the Reboot duology is full of riveting action and steamy love scenes as Wren and Callum become rebels against their own kind.

Purchase from Amazon | B&N | The Book Depository



***

Thank you Amy for gracing Oops! I Read A Book Again with your presence! I'm full-on spazzing right now because Amy Tintera is one of my favorite authors because of this ohsofrickinawesome duology she wrote. I wasn't  able to feature her last year on Celebrating Debutantes and now, this has been on my blogger wishlist for so long. Thank you Amy!


REBOOT MOVIE PLEASE BOOK ADAPTATION GODS, HEAR MEEEEEEEEE~~~~

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comment away!

By the way, this is an awards-free blog. I appreciate it though, really. :D

 
site design by designer blogs