Review: Heart Waves by Danielle Sibarium

Wednesday, February 27, 2013

Heart Waves
Title: Heart Waves (Heart Waves #1)
Author: Danielle Sibarium
Publisher: KFR Communications
Date of Publication: June 1, 2012

Jenna Kingsley has a gift. She knows things. With a simple touch she can pick up personal information from jewelry or objects. While at a neighbor’s party, a voice mesmerizes her. Jenna is momentarily frozen as a ring is placed in her hand. White electricity surges through her and a dire prediction is made. “It’s like Romeo and Juliet. You’re going to break my heart.”

From the moment they meet Jenna is enchanted and entranced with Reece Walton. She’s thrilled to learn he’s spending the summer two houses away from hers. Every moment they spend together is magical. But she can’t get the prediction out of her mind. As the summer draws to a close and secrets are revealed, can Jenna get past the fear of being left with a broken heart to live in the moment with Reece or will her fear of being hurt fulfill the prophecy?

Review

My Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I really hate giving this rating because Danielle is such a kind and lovely person but I just can't rate a book higher than what I really think just because the author's kind. I think all book bloggers have come across this problem and I don't think it gets easy. Still, thank you to Danielle for giving me an electronic review copy and a printed copy is actually on its way to me. I can't thank you enough. I do think I'm just not part of the target audience of this book but I believe a lot of people will actually enjoy this.

So here's my two cents on Heart Waves. Right from the get go, in Chapter 1, I knew I wouldn't enjoy this book because it's one of those instalove stories. Nothing gets on my nerves like instalove so there. Still, I continued reading and actually finished the book because I finish all books I start reading, how much torture they might be for me.

Heart Waves was marketed as a paranormal romance but I would say it is purely a romance novel with a single paranormal factor. The main character, Jenna, has the ability to see visions just by touching objects. Sometimes it's of the past, sometimes it's of the future and sometimes it's not a vision but an aura. That's it. She only used this ability a few times in the book and the novel was just chapter after chapter of her love story with Reece. Yes, they make out or do something sweet every single chapter I was wondering when will the plot come out. And yes, the conflict did come out at the latter part or more like, at the end. I could have enjoyed the book a whole lot more even if the couple got together through instalove if the plot was solid. Sadly, this isn't the case as it was like a slice-of-life novel of their love story. I'm not saying that's bad because I actually like slice-of-life too but it shouldn't be making out every. single. chapter. Then suddenly, boom, there's a semblance of a conflict in the end.

Tyler, Reece's ex-bestfriend was introduced near the end and Reece started changing. His temper, his demeanor, the way he treats Jenna, changed. Being the first book of a trilogy, nothing was revealed and I expect these tidbits to be told in the sequel, Breaking Waves. But there was just too short of a time for the conflict to be absorbed. It felt like I was dumped with a conflict just to make me want to read the next book. Granted, I will read the next book or at least skim it just to see what's the deal with Reece and what's gonna happen. I gotta thank Tyler for that because I love book bad boys. Hahaha! Anyway, Reece's change was really drastic and not convincing for me, which makes me feel like the author wanted to chuck Reece out of the window for Tyler to enter and shine. That's not how you sway the reader to root for the other guy.

Anyway, enough with the bad. There are certainly good things about Heart Waves too. For one, it is not sloppily written and it's also sort of poetic, in that it's full of feelings. Moreover, while the characters are cardboard cut-outs and are not three-dimensional, they are tolerable. Jenna can be SO dense at times but the characters did not irk me in a major way so I'm totes fine with them. Lastly, it really isn't just my genre or my type of book. It's good but just not mah jam~

Still, I recommend this to readers who love Romeo and Juliet-type of stories. 

About Danielle Sibarium

Danielle Sibarium grew up as an only child of divorced parents in Brooklyn, New York. Her imagination was developed at an early age. Surrounded by stuffed animals and imaginary friends, she transported herself into a fantasy world full of magic and wonder. Books were the gateway between her play world and reality. On any given summer afternoon she became Snow White sweeping and cooking for the dwarfs, or Cinderella waiting for the prince. 

Danielle always loved dialogue and in elementary school began writing plays and short stories. This is when she began to understand she could not only bring her fantastical world to life for herself, but she could enchant others as well. And so she wrote. She wrote and wrote and wrote.  

Sadly the first piece she ever sent out for publication of any sort was a letter to the editor of The Home News Tribune. It was a piece thanking the first responders for their bravery and selflessness on Sept 11th. It was chosen as letter of the week. 

In 2007 Danielle collaborated with Charlotte Doreen Small to write songs for her CD More. Danielle wrote the lyrics for Take My Hand, and Goodbye, while Charlotte contributed the melody. 

In October 2011 Danielle’s debut novel For Always was released. She has since released Heart Waves and the second book in the Heart Waves series, Breaking Waves. 

Danielle graduated from Farleigh Dickinson University with honors, and currently lives in New Jersey with her husband and three children.

1 comment:

  1. I totally understand and you still reviewed it well!

    ReplyDelete

Comment away!

By the way, this is an awards-free blog. I appreciate it though, really. :D

 
site design by designer blogs