Spotlight + Guest Post: Entanglement by Dan Rix

Tuesday, December 4, 2012

Entanglement
Title: Entanglement
Author: Dan Rix
Date of Publication: November 16, 2012

"...the scientific explanation is quantum entanglement, whereby the boy and girl—even when separated by great distances—react instantaneously to changes in each other's states..." —Dr. Casler Selavio, on the entanglement of halves.

Humans are born in pairs.

This is the story of the exception.



1935

An investigation into the eerie new field of quantum mechanics reveals the existence of soul mates. For the next sixty years, all births confirm the discovery. Humans come in pairs.

1995

When a newborn boy takes his first breath in the coastal town of Tularosa, the exact time is noted, recorded in the Registry, and later compared to the birth times of other newborns around the globe. As always, there will be one identical match—his half. They will meet on their eighteenth birthday and they will spend their lives together. Except this time, there is no match.

2013


Hotheaded heartthrob Aaron Harper is scheduled to meet his half in twenty-nine days, and he doesn’t buy a word of that entanglement crap. So what if he and his half were born the same day and share a spooky psychic connection? Big deal. After breaking one too many teenage girls’ hearts, he knows he'll never meet anyone worth his time.

That is, until a new girl arrives at school who threatens everything he takes for granted.



Cold and unapproachable, Amber Lilian hates the growing list of similarities between her and the one boy she can’t read, Aaron: born the same day, both stubborn, both terrified of meeting their halves. . . . All the more reason not to trust him. That she would rather die than surrender herself as her half’s property is none of his damn business. But once lost in Aaron’s dangerous, jet black eyes, she’s already surrendered more than she cares to admit.



Tangled in each other’s self-destructive lives, Aaron and Amber learn the secret behind their linked births and why they feel like halves—but unless they can prove it before they turn eighteen, Aaron faces a lifetime alone in a world where everyone else has a soul mate . . . and he’ll have to watch Amber give herself to a boy who intends to possess not only her body but also a chunk of her soul.


ENTANGLEMENT, a 75,000 word YA thriller, will appeal to readers of Michael Grant's GONE and Ally Condie’s MATCHED.

Purchase from Amazon

Excerpt

First three chapters HERE!

Review

Read my review HERE!

Guest Post

I asked Dan if he could grace my blog with a guest post and he said yes! Yey! So I asked him how he came up with the premise of Entanglement and how much research he put into it because you know, it's sci-fi. And here's Dan to tell us all about that.

Take it away, Dan!

Picture this: 

The moment you’re born, halfway around the world someone else is born at the exact same time. You and this person share a subtle telepathic connection that appears to travel faster than light. If one of you dies, the other feels it instantly…and follows shortly. The two of you are soul mates, an entangled pair. And you will meet on your eighteenth birthday.

That’s the premise behind my YA thriller, Entanglement. The idea is drawn from a real physics phenomenon called quantum entanglement, which we’ll get into in a bit. But first…

How did I come up with it?

The idea of two people born at the exact same time popped into my head about four years ago. I started playing around with it, and asked the question: what if everybody was actually born at the same time as someone else—and that person was your soul mate? It sounded like fun, and I was pretty sure no one had written about that exact concept. If someone else has, please correct me!

I always love books where there’s something different about the main character, so right away I started thinking about what would happen if the main character was the one human who WASN'T born with a soul mate. That would add in a bunch of delicious complications, wouldn't it? :D

I actually didn't incorporate the science of quantum entanglement until a much later draft. My former agent had wanted more “logic” surrounding the idea of soul mates, so I went to work finding a plausible scientific explanation for the implausible existence of soul mates.

Quantum mechanics has always fascinated me, particularly the parts that nobody can explain, and after skimming through my dad's library (he's a physicist) and reading dozens of online articles about quantum mechanics, I learned about this weird, mostly overlooked phenomenon called entanglement. And let me tell you, this thing's bizarre. And it also perfectly accounted for some of the stuff in my book I hadn't yet been able to explain. In fact, it was kind of eerie how well some of the stuff fit. Almost too eerie.

While Entanglement is fiction, I wanted the science and history to be completely accurate. The hardest part was figuring out exactly who the players were back in 1935, when entanglement was discovered. It turns out Albert Einstein had a lot to say about entanglement--a lot of bad things, that is. He just didn't believe "spooky action at a distance" was possible, and wrote a whole paper disproving the concept. Entanglement is one of the few things Einstein got wrong. It was Erwin Schrodinger who stood by the phenomenon and coined the term "entanglement," so he became the one responsible for the discovery of halves in the book. Okay, enough of that. Let's get back to entanglement and how it works.

Spooky Action at a Distance

What follows is taken from my blog, so bear with me if you've read it before. I just want to make sure we're all on the same page. 

Okay, we’ll start by shining a laser at a crystal, so it splits into two different beams. Now let’s go down to the subatomic level. Imagine a single photon hitting the crystal and splitting into two different photons. Just like the light. Now imagine one of these photons came out spinning like a top. Because of conservation of angular momentum, the other photon would have to be spinning in the opposite direction. Make sense? Their total angular momentum must add up to zero.

Now let’s let these photons travel a few billion miles away from each other, and let’s take another look at them. They’re still spinning in the exact opposite directions, because nothing has interfered with them.
But now we have a problem. Photons are so small that the laws of physics get kind of hazy at their scale, and it’s really more accurate to say they’re spinning in all directions at once. They haven’t really decided yet which direction they’re spinning, just that they’re opposite. Each one is like a coin that is still flipping in the air. It’s both heads and tails at the same time. But that’s no good.

So we reach in and stop the photon from spinning. It’s like we’re slapping the coin against our palm to freeze it in heads or tails (I’m using heads and tails now to describe spinning one direction versus the other). But this is where it gets really sticky.

Remember that other photon? How it had the opposite spin? Well it still does. A second ago, both photons were spinning in all directions at once. But now that we've stopped one photon at tails, the other one—even though it’s a billion miles away—instantaneously takes on heads.

Somehow, the one photon communicated its “collapsed” state to its other half, even though they were billions of miles apart. And it happened faster than light. It’s as if they were connected at a more fundamental level, through a hole in space, perhaps, or via another dimension. That's where the term "entangled" comes from.

Creepy, huh?

In closing, I can't thank Dianne enough for taking a chance on me, for reading my book, and for sharing it with her readers--with you. Few indie author’s get that luxury, and it's one that's made a big difference during the first couple weeks that my book's been out. She’s truly making it possible for new author’s like me to find their audience. So I have a favor to ask you: help her create a following. Help her share unique authors with the world. Invite your friends to join this blog, or share this, or any of her other posts with people you know. It's little things like that that make all the difference. 

Thanks for reading!
Dan Rix, author of Entanglement

And thank you Dan for the wonderful and very informative guest post! I feel like I'm loving Entanglement more, if that's even possible. Haha!

Don't forget to purchase Entanglement! Hihi. Support Dan and follow him on Twitter and on his blog! :)

If you're interested in reviewing Entanglement, don't hesitate to contact me or Dan. He's very nice and I think he might just give it to you for review. :DDD Like what he did for me. Aaaaww. <3

About Dan Rix


Dan Rix majored in Architecture at UC Berkeley and considers himself lucky to have graduated during one of the worst housing market crashes of the century. "It made writing an easy choice," he says.

His favorite novels include Michael Grant's Gone, Jay Asher's Thirteen Reasons Why, and Dan Brown's The Da Vinci Code. High stakes, high concept page-turners. That's what he likes to read, and that's what he likes to write.

Dan lives in Santa Barbara, California with his girlfriend. His debut thriller, Entanglement, is available now on Amazon.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Comment away!

By the way, this is an awards-free blog. I appreciate it though, really. :D

 
site design by designer blogs