Review: Entanglement by Dan Rix

Monday, December 3, 2012

Entanglement
Title: Entanglement
Author: Dan Rix
Date of Publication: November 16, 2012

"...the scientific explanation is quantum entanglement, whereby the boy and girl—even when separated by great distances—react instantaneously to changes in each other's states..." —Dr. Casler Selavio, on the entanglement of halves.


Humans are born in pairs.
This is the story of the exception.

1935

An investigation into the eerie new field of quantum mechanics reveals the existence of soul mates. For the next sixty years, all births confirm the discovery. Humans come in pairs.

1995

When a newborn boy takes his first breath in the coastal town of Tularosa, the exact time is noted, recorded in the Registry, and later compared to the birth times of other newborns around the globe. As always, there will be one identical match—his half. They will meet on their eighteenth birthday and they will spend their lives together. Except this time, there is no match.

2013


Hotheaded heartthrob Aaron Harper is scheduled to meet his half in twenty-nine days, and he doesn’t buy a word of that entanglement crap. So what if he and his half were born the same day and share a spooky psychic connection? Big deal. After breaking one too many teenage girls’ hearts, he knows he'll never meet anyone worth his time.


That is, until a new girl arrives at school who threatens everything he takes for granted.


Cold and unapproachable, Amber Lilian hates the growing list of similarities between her and the one boy she can’t read, Aaron: born the same day, both stubborn, both terrified of meeting their halves. . . . All the more reason not to trust him. That she would rather die than surrender herself as her half’s property is none of his damn business. But once lost in Aaron’s dangerous, jet black eyes, she’s already surrendered more than she cares to admit.

Tangled in each other’s self-destructive lives, Aaron and Amber learn the secret behind their linked births and why they feel like halves—but unless they can prove it before they turn eighteen, Aaron faces a lifetime alone in a world where everyone else has a soul mate . . . and he’ll have to watch Amber give herself to a boy who intends to possess not only her body but also a chunk of her soul.

ENTANGLEMENT, a 75,000 word YA thriller, will appeal to readers of Michael Grant's GONE and Ally Condie’s MATCHED.

Purchase from Amazon

Excerpt

Good lawd, this freakin' teaser/excerpt made me go berserk and tweet Dan Rix like a mad woman. This is the bomb, you guys. I didn't stop reading AT ALL.

Read the first three chapters of Entanglement HERE and get obsessed like me!

Review

My Rating: 5 of 5 stars! (And lots of love!)

Woah. Just woah. I finished reading it days ago (and actually I got late for my thesis experiment that day) but the high it has given me hasn't subsided yet. So a little backstory first on how I came upon this AMAZING book.



Dan followed me on Twitter so I got curious and checked his profile. Seeing that he's an author, I followed back and clicked the link to his blog. I always do this by the way. Plus, I love following authors! I perused his blog and found free chapters of Entanglement. Having nothing to do at 4:30 AM (I slept too early that night and hence, waking up too early), I started reading the free chapters. And boy did I ever stop.

After writhing in pain over not being able to read the whole book, I tweeted Dan. I whined why it's $4.99 on Amazon for me when it's just $2.99. I was ready to purchase it when Dan told me he'd send me a free copy. My eyes went O_O and I'm sure I hyperventilated in class. I can't believe my luck! Dan said it was my enthusiasm (I abused the exclamation mark and all sorts of giggly smileys) and then he sent me Entanglement. For free! For a review! (Please remind me to stop side-commenting all the time. Haha!)

The rest was history. I barely slept reading this book. I couldn't stop! It was everything I expected of the free chapters... and more! So let's get to that review, shall we?

In Dan's bio, there's a part there which says: "His favorite novels include Michael Grant's Gone, Jay Asher's Thirteen Reasons Why, and Dan Brown's The Da Vinci Code. High stakes, high concept page-turners. That's what he likes to read, and that's what he likes to write." And he certainly lived up to it. Entanglement got high stakes all around and it's definitely a high concept and it is no doubt, a page-turner. If you could have seen the eyebags I got from reading through the night. That's what actually made me read this book, the mention of Gone by Michael Grant. Loved that book, in great awe of the premise. I thought that if this book is even remotely like Gone, then it must be good. And it's true! It's not just good, it's supercalifreakinawesomeamazeballs!

The novel is set in Tularosa (a fictionalized Santa Barbara, California) and we have two seventeen year-olds for our protagonists. Meet Aaron Harper, a setter of Pueblo High's volleyball team, and Amber Lilian, the new girl at Corona Blanca High. In this time, on your eighteenth birthday, you're destined to meet your half, your soulmate. Halves are connected through their clairvoyant channels in their brains, which also means you die when your half dies. Something like that. Honestly, you're better off reading the blurb/summary. Haha!

Dan Rix has created a very believable world in Entanglement, which makes me SO giddy. It is set in the future but a not so distant future so it won't take you time to get used to the setting. However, of course, there's this clairvoyant channel that Schrödinger discovered that connects two people and all the talks of quantum entanglement, which is a true occurrence. Of course, Dan Rix had his liberty of assuming entanglement in humans as his premise. I love his scientific take on the whole soulmates thing, which is very refreshing. I might be biased because I come from a science background and I love sci-fi but aren't you tired of people being soulmates because they're spelled? Or plain destined? That it's written in the stars or something like that? In here, it's all about the science. More points for Dan for making the science of his novel easy to understand. He guides the reader every step of the way, without becoming pure telling and no showing.

Setting, check. Premise, check. But what is a good plot when you have MEH characters? I am glad to announce that Aaron and Amber (what cute names!) aren't your stock characters. They act and talk their age, they're smart and very engaging. All the other characters as well are developed and not easy to categorize into good or bad. Amber is surely that elusive new girl but she has depth and she's her own person, with her own motives and her own ideas. Clive and Dr. Selavio were really fleshed out also. So on the character front, I have nothing to complain.

The dialogue was snappy, as the whole novel is. Every scene, every line has a purpose, which I VERY MUCH appreciate. As much as I love descriptions, this type of novel relies on its being fast-paced.

High stakes? Definitely. Life and death situations abound at every corner. Even with the romance, the stakes are high! This novel is so gripping and the pace keeps you on the edge. Whilst being full of action too, the romance department did not lack in any way. In fact, it was riveting. I want an Aaron Harper of my own. Heehee.


The cover! Yes! I need to ask Dan who did the cover slash where did the image come from because it's SUPER COOL! DNA, yeah baby.

You know what, I really find it hard to review books that I love because I only end up spazzing. So if you think my enthusiasm towards this book shows in my review, you are absolutely right. Ha!

I never knew following Dan back on Twitter, checking out his blog, reading the free chapters and tweeting him while hyperventilating and spazzing will get me a free copy of the book and a new five-star book for me. So for all you out there, take a chance at self-published books (and even traditionally published ones)! Surely, you might pick the worst book EVAH but maybe, just maybe, you'll find a gem and all the disappointments of the past are worth it.

Absolutely definitely can't wait for the sequel! That's my only complain. That I have to wait for so long for the sequel. Huhuhuhu, this is torture.

Come back soon for a guest post from the almighty Dan Rix! All hail, Dan Rix, all hail! Hahaha! Am I crazy? Yeah? Okay.

About Dan Rix

Dan Rix majored in Architecture at UC Berkeley and considers himself lucky to have graduated during one of the worst housing market crashes of the century. "It made writing an easy choice," he says.

His favorite novels include Michael Grant's Gone, Jay Asher's Thirteen Reasons Why, and Dan Brown's The Da Vinci Code. High stakes, high concept page-turners. That's what he likes to read, and that's what he likes to write.

Dan lives in Santa Barbara, California with his girlfriend. His debut thriller, Entanglement, is available now on Amazon.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Comment away!

By the way, this is an awards-free blog. I appreciate it though, really. :D

 
site design by designer blogs