Anna and the Swallow Man by Gavriel Savit

Monday, February 1, 2016



Title: Anna and the Swallow Man
Author: Gavriel Savit
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Date of Publication: January 26, 2016
Source: copy from publisher


Kraków, 1939. A million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. This is no place to grow up. Anna Łania is just seven years old when the Germans take her father, a linguistics professor, during their purge of intellectuals in Poland. She’s alone.

And then Anna meets the Swallow Man. He is a mystery, strange and tall, a skilled deceiver with more than a little magic up his sleeve. And when the soldiers in the streets look at him, they see what he wants them to see.

The Swallow Man is not Anna’s father—she knows that very well—but she also knows that, like her father, he’s in danger of being taken, and like her father, he has a gift for languages: Polish, Russian, German, Yiddish, even Bird. When he summons a bright, beautiful swallow down to his hand to stop her from crying, Anna is entranced. She follows him into the wilderness.

Over the course of their travels together, Anna and the Swallow Man will dodge bombs, tame soldiers, and even, despite their better judgment, make a friend. But in a world gone mad, everything can prove dangerous. Even the Swallow Man.

Purchase from Amazon | B&N | The Book Depository

Stacking the Shelves (55) + January Recap

Sunday, January 31, 2016



For Review

Arrows by Melissa Gorzelancyzk
Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard (ARC)
The Fallen Prince by Amalie Howard (ARC)

Wolf in White Van by John Darnielle

Thursday, January 21, 2016

I feel like even after a week from finishing it, it's still too early to talk about WOLF IN WHITE VAN. That I might not be able to discuss the full breadth of how and what it means to me because I don't even know all the ways it has affected me or made me realize things yet. But I'll still try. (I tried not getting into any spoilers but I just have to discuss some symbolism and shit so there might be spoilers? Not plotwise though. Ack, just tread carefully?)


Title: Wolf in White Van
Author: John Darnielle
Publisher: Picador
Date of Publication: August 1, 2015 (paperback)
Source: Gifted by Jean!

Welcome to Trace Italian, a game of strategy and survival! You may now make your first move. Isolated by a disfiguring injury since the age of 17, Sean Phillips crafts imaginary worlds for strangers to play in. From his small apartment in Southern California, he orchestrates fantastic adventures where possibilities, both dark and bright, open in the boundaries between the real and the imagined. As the creator of Trace Italian - a text-based, roleplaying game played through the mail - Sean guides players from around the world through his intricately imagined terrain, which they navigate and explore, turn by turn, seeking sanctuary in a ravaged, savage future America. Lance and Carrie are high school students from Florida, explorers of the Trace. But when they take their play into the real world, disaster strikes, and Sean is called to account for it. In the process, he is pulled back through time, tunneling toward the moment of his own self-inflicted departure from the world in which most people live.

Brilliantly constructed, Wolf in White Van unfolds in reverse until we arrive at both the beginning and the climax: the event that has shaped so much of Sean’s life. Beautifully written and unexpectedly moving, John Darnielle’s audacious and gripping debut novel is a marvel of storytelling brio and genuine literary delicacy.

Purchase from Amazon | B&N | The Book Depository

Up to this Pointe by Jennifer Longo

Tuesday, January 19, 2016

I'm so grateful this is my first read of the year. I finished it last January 1 too and I couldn't have had a more perfect first book for the year. And now it's out!!!!!!!!111 *hyperflail* Be sure to get it now!


Title: Up to this Pointe
Author: Jennifer Longo
Publisher: Random House BFYR
Date of Publication: January 19, 2016
Source: egalley from publisher

A refreshingly original contemporary YA, unlike anything readers have seen before. Perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson, John Corey Whaley, and Libba Bray.

She had a plan. It went south.

Harper is a dancer. She and her best friend, Kate, have one goal: becoming professional ballerinas. And Harper won’t let anything—or anyone—get in the way of The Plan, not even the boy she and Kate are both drawn to.

Harper is a Scott. She’s related to Robert Falcon Scott, the explorer who died racing to the South Pole. So when Harper’s life takes an unexpected turn, she finagles (read: lies) her way to the icy dark of McMurdo Station . . . in Antarctica. Extreme, but somehow fitting—apparently she has always been in the dark, dancing on ice this whole time. And no one warned her. Not her family, not her best friend, not even the boy who has somehow found a way into her heart.

Purchase from Amazon | B&N | The Book Depository

Cover Reveal: Right of First Refusal by Dahlia Adler

Wednesday, January 13, 2016



Title: Right of First Refusal (Radleigh University #2)
Author: Dahlia Adler
Date of Publication: March 15, 2016

On the lacrosse field, Cait Johanssen gets what she wants. Off the field is another story. Because what she wants is the school's hot new basketball student-coach, Lawrence Mason, who also happens to be the guy who broke her heart in sports camp two years earlier.

But it's Cait's new roommate who's got him.

Cait and Mase agree it's best to keep their past a secret, but she doesn't expect him to completely ignore their history...or how much it'll hurt when he does. So when a friend on the basketball team asks her to pose as his girlfriend for a night, Cait can't turn down the opportunity for distraction. (Okay, and a little spite.) But what starts as an evening of fun turns into a fake relationship with more lies than the usually drama-free Cait can handle, and it's only keeping her from the one truth that's nagged at her for years: Why did Mase cut her out of his life to begin with?

And is it really too late to get him back?

Pre-order from Amazon | B&N | Smashwords

#AlexLondoninPH this January 15!

Friday, January 8, 2016



ALEX LONDON IS COMING BACK TO THE PHILIPPINES YAAAAAAAYYYYY

Sadly, I can't go. Because it's on a weekday! And at 6PM. And too far from my office. T_T I'm sad but not too sad because I already met him back in 2014 and he has the softest hands! I know because I told him that his hands looked pretty and soft and asked him if I could touch it to prove/disprove it. HAHAHA I am a total creeper.

Anyway, I've read Proxy and loved it and I'm sure a lot of you bookish Filipinos did too. Haven't read PROXY? WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR? Now's the perfect time as both Proxy and Guardian, the sequel, are in paperback formats now. Proxy is one of the first dystopian books I've read with an LGBT character so YAY FOR DIVERSITY! Seriously, just read this series, you guys.

Even though I can't go (*throws myself a pity party*), I'm still here to share all the deets on this wonderful event so read more below!
 
site design by designer blogs